Handicrafts · Loom Knitting

Borderless Loom Knitted Baby Blanket and Hat

Recently I made a matching baby blanket and hat with a border that is super cute! I decided to make a matching baby blanket and hat set using the same stitch but without a border. This design will lay flat even without having a border edge. As I noted in my hurdle stitch hat post, this is technically not the traditional needle knit hurdle stitch pattern. I’m new to reading knitting patterns and totally messed up in my conversion. What I ended up with is still such a beautiful stitch. This blanket and hat design set is part of the items I’m designing for my Crafting Blessing group. In a few months we will be making blankets, hats and other items for NICU babies.

Blog disclaimer

SUPPLIES USED:
Loom, hook & yarn needle: 24 & 41 peg looms from a basic loom set
Yarn: #5 bulky yarn: Loops & Threads Charisma – Think Pink

In this tutorial you will learn how to loom knit a baby blanket (or any size) on a round loom, straight loom, infinity loom, etc. and matching baby hat on a round loom from start to finish. The final width of my blanket using all 41 pegs was about 16″ width. The final length of my baby hat was 5.5″. Using different yarn, loom gauge, plus other differences will make the width and lengths different than mine. You can use a round loom, straight loom, infinity loom, etc. for the blanket, depending on the size you’d like to make it. Using a smaller gauge loom will make the stitches tighter if that is what you like as well.

Bottom view of the blanket on the knitting loom.

Blanket pattern: You will use an odd number of pegs from any size round or straight/long loom you’d like. You can also use an infinity loom to make larger blankets. I like the Knitting board afghan loom, but I’ve heard good things about other brands such as the Darice brand. I like the 48 peg (5/8″ gauge) Knitting Board loom for a similar size to the one used here but a little tighter stitches. To make smaller or larger than 41 pegs, add/subtract stitches in multiples of 2. As explained in detail in the video, you will add/subtract the extra stitches in the center of each row in the pattern.

Hat pattern: You can use this pattern on any size loom with an even number of pegs. For odd numbered looms, you will have to adjust the pattern. I would suggest ending each K1, P1 row with an extra P1.

After I made this set, I decided it would look even more amazing with some roses and leaves for embellishments. Though I designed this set for donation to the NICU, I’m going to give this first set to a friend from my MOPS group that is having a baby girl next month. This blanket size will be perfect for a baby carrier. Using my roses and leaves tutorial, I made some roses and leaves to accent the set.

Roses and leaves are perfect embellishments to the blanket and hat.

ROSES AND LEAVES
Roses:
Blanket & hat roses: 1 strand of a #4 worsted weight yarn on a 3/8″ gauge loom
I used: I Love this Yarn! from Hobby Lobby – Hot Rose

I did 26 rows for the hat rose and 56 rows for the blanket rose.

Leaves: Blanket leaves: 2 strands of a #4 worsted weight yarn on a 5/8″ gauge loom

Hat leaves: 1 strand of a #4 worsted weight yarn on a 3/8″ gauge loom

Here is my YouTube video tutorial on how to make the roses and leaves. Please give it a thumbs up!

How to loom knit roses and leaves tutorial.

Feel free to use this pattern, but please see the following information regarding use of this pattern. Supplies needed for this project are listed in the pattern and above.

Please do not copy or distribute this pattern in any manner or claim as your own.

You may sell products made from this pattern only if you clearly credit the design to me (The Davet Homestead) and provide a link to my blog www.thedavethomestead.com. No mass production or factory manufacturing of any kind is allowed. My photos may NOT be used, you must take your own photos of your finished products for your use. Please considering making items from this pattern and donating them to your local children’s hospital, women’s shelter, homeless shelter, etc.

Here is a FREE pdf for you to download and the video tutorial as well. Considering making a small donation ($3 suggested – though anything is appreciated) for the downloaded pdf pattern: paypal.me/BridgetDavet.

Hope you enjoy making this pattern. Feel free to post your final projects to my Facebook page. Please subscribe to my blog to get notifications on all my upcoming projects.

Here is the video tutorial of how to make this loom knitted matching baby blanket and hat. Please subscribe to my channel so you can receive notifications when I upload new videos and give my videos a thumbs up.

Here are my product recommendations:

Links to other video tutorials listed in this video:

the Davet Homestead

Leave a comment